Thankful Thursday

I am drawing a blank on what to write about today. It’s been a busy week and my brain is on overload. So I’ve decided to just take a moment and list 5 thinks for which I am thankful. I may make this a regular thing, since I think it is always good to stop for a moment, especially when stressed, to remind myself how rich I truly am.

So, today I am thankful for:

My washer and dryer. With 3 males (1 grown, 1 not quite, 1 tween), my laundry is constant. I have no idea how they generate so much laundry, but holy cow do they ever. After doing 4 loads today (and there’s more!), and having been without a washer and/or dryer for days, if not weeks, at various points in my life and knowing how miserable that is, today I am ever so thankful for a functioning washer and dryer that are currently humming along.

My taste buds. There are ever so many things to taste in this world, always a new food to try. It is amazing to me how many thousands of flavors and textures – sweet, sour, spicy – I have tasted in my life, and to realize I have barely touched the tip of the iceberg in foods to taste. It’s mind boggling to think about all the things I have not yet, or may never, taste in this world.

People who enjoy receiving snail mail, because I so enjoy sending it. I think there is something very personal and thoughtful in taking the time to write a handwritten letter these days, on real stationery, with a stamp, passed from hand to hand (and electronic sorters in between) across the country, or even across the world, until it reaches that last hand that places it in the recipient’s mailbox. In a world filled with texting, email, and instant messaging, I think that old-fashioned, personalized, slow form of communication is like a small gift of someone’s time, and I enjoy both receiving it and being able to send it out into the world. I like to think of it as putting a hug in someone’s mailbox.

Technology. At the same time, I am ever so thankful for technology that allows me to communicate nearly instantly with people I love who are very far away, always just a text away. I love that it allows me to see my daughter in her dorm room and hear her voice to fill the long months between visits or allows us to instantly check to see if the other is awake and chat in the middle of the night without waking anyone else.

Dark chocolate. Yep, you heard me. It’s one of my favorite little indulgences and I have a small square almost every night. Life is short y’all. Don’t deny yourself a little bit of dark chocolate.

Have a lovely evening. A (hug) for you.

P.S. Yes I know I can make enumerated or bulleted lists, but then it looks so cluttered and hard to read because it doesn’t space between items. Does anyone know if there is a way to force a space between items in a list?

12 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. You kind of reminded me of my ideas from a post about a perfect day.
    I think that thankful Thursdays have the power to make a change in lives of those who get to think about 5 things they are thankful for.

    Like

  2. I loved your list. As the wife of one male, and the mother of two more, I’m seeing more and more laundry as they grow. 🙂 I’m ever so thankful for our washer and dryer! 🙂 We’ve had times when one or the other wasn’t working, and it was inconvenient! 🙂

    And snail mail? Love it! I miss receiving it. When someone takes the time to write in a card and then mail it to me? That lifts my day like little else can.

    And dark chocolate? YUM!! ‘Nuff said.

    Thanks for reminding me to be thankful daily.

    Like

  3. Does anyone know if there is a way to force a space between items in a list?

    Yes, when you are writing your post, switch from visual to text (at the top of the text box). Once in the text view you can add or delete spaces between lines.

    Like

  4. What a great idea. I am certainly grateful for my washing machine too. I agree, where on earth does all the laundry come from? It never ends. My Nanna tells me about life before the washing machine and I don’t know how they did it. And yes, chocolate is a guilty pleasure of mine too. Life would not be the same without it. Take care.

    Like

    • Oh gosh, that made me flash on a memory from when I was very little. My grandmother had a HAND washing “machine” in her basement. If I remember correctly, it had a tub that she washed the clothes in by hand, then fed them through a wringer that she cranked by hand, and then she hung them on the line to dry. I’d be here for weeks doing laundry one item at a time like that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

