Money Can’t Buy Me Love

Today’s writing prompt asks the question, if you could permanently get rid of one worry, what would it be?

I didn’t even have to think about this one. Hands down it would be one of two things, either no more health worries for my family (and myself) or no more money worries.

I’m not much of a worrier by nature. I believe in dealing with things as they come and not fretting about what I can’t control or wasting energy worrying about what might happen. I can do nothing about it until it actually does happen, so that is when I tackle it. If I know potential problems could arise, then I do what I can in advance to head those off, but there are rarely things that keep me up at night worrying about the what ifs.

The two exceptions to that are health and money concerns. 6793819699_23933ea007_m

I have a son and a sister with chronic illnesses. Their health is constantly in the forefront of my brain. My husband and I are getting *cough* a bit older and we have a few health concerns of our own. My daughter is far away at school and I worry about her running herself ragged and when she has a health concern arise being so far away.

With regular treatments out of town, prescriptions, doctor bills, gas, lab bills, of course the health concerns go hand in hand with financial worries.

My daughter’s college expenses are huge and she has taken out several loans and that weighs on me heavily. My son will graduate in a few months and more college costs will come into play. I have not been working for many months. I have a laundry list of financial obligations and concerns.

I told my husband the other day that I had some strange delusion that when our kids got older our expenses would go down. I thought once they were all out of diapers, car seats, constantly needing new clothes and shoes because they were always growing, etc., that things would be easier financially.

cry laugh

Now I just laugh and laugh (cry sob) at how wrong I was. As they’ve gotten older, they have slowed down on needing new clothes and shoes as often, with the exception of my son with Crohn’s who grew about 3 years’ worth in less than a year and I couldn’t get him new pants fast enough. (That’s a good thing!)

Two growing boys eat food like they might never see it again. There are seemingly endless expenses for sports, clubs, band trips, class rings, driving, dances, college textbooks, on and on. Any kid over age 12 costs an “adult” ticket or meal everywhere we go. That always irks me since they’re nowhere near adulthood. With food, I totally get it, they eat a lot more!; but with say, a movie ticket, a concert ticket, etc., not so much.

9610011087_24fa377639_mAnd then there’s my daughter’s wedding planned for 2016 and that in and of itself is daunting from a financial perspective. Even though we’re being smart, frugal, and buying ahead as much as we can, those costs still add up quickly.

I thought at this point in our lives we would be in a much more comfortable financial situation than we are currently, and that is something that is on my mind all the time. Given the choice, I would easily choose health first, with everyone being cured of all their ailments, healthy, and thriving. I think that’s a no-brainer, to want the people you love to be healthy and well. That is, however, not a wish I can make come true and not something that money can buy, though certainly it could make the cost of illness and healthcare easier to bear. Like Mom used to say, “If wishes were horses, then beggars would ride.”

So I am working on finances, trying to come up with ways to bring in more cash and hopefully ease the burden we’re under a bit. And while I’m not one to focus much on money or think it’s much more than a means to an end, I have to admit that life would be much easier and probably far more relaxed were I debt free. It’s a goal. Even though things are tighter than I would like them to be right now and at times it really stresses me out, I try to never lose sight of the fact that I have much for which to be grateful and that we have far more than many. We are warm, fed, sheltered, and have a home filled with love and laughter and that is worth more to me than ever having a giant bank account.

money

However, if I had a sudden windfall that would solve the majority of my financial woes, I likely wouldn’t turn it down, and I’m pretty sure I’d sleep much better at night, the knots in my shoulders would ease up, and I’d likely have fewer wrinkles. Were it enough to allow me to freely give whenever I see a need (there are SO MANY) without having to stop to consider if it would be to my family’s detriment, I’d be thrilled beyond measure.

A girl can dream, can’t she?

Photo credit: 401(K) 2013 / Foter / CC BY-SA, Photo credit: Pistols Drawn / Foter / CC BYPhoto credit: aresauburn™ / Foter / CC BY-SA

4 thoughts on “Money Can’t Buy Me Love

  1. Totally get you. Everything just continues to add up, doesn’t it – and half the time I just want to go to sleep or drink a beer on the couch and do lazy people things acting as if everything will just “magically go away.”

    But, I’ve realized that, while I can’t control most of my life situation, I can control my reaction and feelings on my current situation. I’m not sure if it would help you at all, but when I feel particularly overwhelmed, I pull an Oprah and pick up my “Gratitude Journal.” I write at least 10 things I’m grateful for everyday for a month, two months, three months… whatever time it takes for me to re-connect on looking at this life as a gift!

    Not sure this is your style, but thought I’d pass along the idea in case it might be. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yes, I completely agree. I hope it didn’t come across sounding that I am downtrodden. It can be overwhelming at times, but I try to never lose sight of how much I have and practice gratitude and thankfulness – hopefully daily. Sometimes I need a kick in the butt to remind me, but most days I think I have an attitude of gratitude and am positive. I hope that comes across. Thank you for commenting! (Hug)

      Like

Leave a Reply

