Much Too Soon

wpid-20141031_124228.jpgThis was the scene here Friday. You can see the white stuff, but you can’t hear or feel the howling wind. It was a pretty nasty day outside, so much so that marching band was canceled for the playoff football game that night. This was the 4th time marching band had been canceled this fall due to inclement weather. It’s been a disappointing season for my son’s senior year.

I don’t know anyone who is ready for snow in October, do you? Personally, I’m not ready in November. I’m not even ready in December until about 12/23 or 12/24. I’d be a happy camper if we had a white Christmas, it stayed maybe a week for the kids to play, maybe 2, and then it was gone.

Instead, what we tend to have here is 2 seasons – winter, and the rest of the year. Winter seems to last nearly 6 months some years when snow starts in October and sometimes goes into April. It makes for some very long, dark, and dreary months.

I have plenty of hobbies to keep my mind and hands occupied through those long months indoors, but I do not look forward to the long stretches of freezing cold and feeling like I may never be warm again or the too often downright dangerous road conditions. I have become one of those people who wants to move to a warmer clime – 5 years ago! I have no idea if or when I’ll get there, but I oft dream of a little cottage by the beach where I can squish my toes in the warm sand and let the water soothe my soul.

It’s where you’ll find me, at least in spirit, whenever I’m caught daydreaming with a soft smile on my face, and especially when the temperatures dip into the single or negative numbers.

3 thoughts on “Much Too Soon

  1. Ahhh… makes total sense. Yes we do share the same miserable weather! Last winter I was jobless and learned to embrace it, taking my dog Zeke on long walks, bundled up like a kid with snowpants and everything!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m in Michigan, but it seems our weather and Canada’s are often very similar. Some of it just blows through here first on its way to you! I have a friend who is nearly parallel “across the pond” and his is usually fairly close to ours.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

